教育应用程序,

技术与儿童

Young for technology

我们明白,有的家长对孩子使用电子媒体总会感到担忧。然而,Little Chatterbox 相信,由于这项科技已成为当今世界的一部分,因此学习如何适当地使用,是孩童发展的重要一环。

与电视和互联网相比,我们认为应用程序的互动性质更能为所有年龄的学生提供更高质量的教育内容。应用程序能够将学习转为游戏,并运用混合媒体,在图像和视频的辅助下,使得教育的体验变得更加有趣、吸引人。

我们主张在谨慎掌管的方式来使用应用程序:

  • 在特定的时候
  • 在有限的时间内
  • 提供有趣的教育内容
  • 无开放访问互联网或付费的附加组件

我们还认为,被动消化(例如看卡通)和使用主动性的学习应用程序(例如像互动式语言教学工具一样的教育应用程序)有很大的不同。许多家长发现,作为家庭生活的一部分,以屏幕为主的娱乐活动非常有帮助——意思是,如果您要让孩子看什么,他们也可能会学到些什么!

更重要的是,当儿童和成人一起使用 Little Chatterbox 时,会有最佳的效果。大人小孩一起学习关键词,再看着孩子经由好玩的游戏来展现他们的知识,并赞美他们的进步。这些加起来,都是共有的美好经验,远比让他们单独观看更有益、也更愉快。我们希望这个应用程序能被用作家庭生活的一部分,而不是占用家庭生活(的时间)。

最后要说的是,Little Chatterbox 是个封闭的应用程序——您的孩子在使用它时,并不会访问互联网。与观看基于互联网的教育视频相比,这提供了更高的安全性,让家长更放心。当他们在观看互联网上的视频,孩子们总会东点西点,很容易就从原本合适的媒体,跳转到我们都不希望他们看的内容。

Educational apps,

technology and children

Young for technology

We recognise that some parents have concerns about young children using electronic media. However, here at Little Chatterbox we believe that as this technology is now part of our world, learning how to use it appropriately is an important part of children’s development.

We also believe that apps’ interactive nature allows them to deliver much better quality educational content to students of all ages than either TV or the internet. An app’s ability to turn learning into a game and to use mixed media, with images and videos makes for a much more fun and engaging educational experience.

We’re advocates of using apps in a carefully managed way:

  • at certain times
  • for a limited time
  • providing fun educational content
  • with no open access to either the internet or paid add-ons

We also believe there’s a big difference between using apps for active learning (e.g. an educational app like an interactive language teaching tool) as opposed to passive consumption (e.g. watching cartoons). Many parents find some form of screen-based entertainment very helpful as part of family life – we say if you’re going to let your child watch something, they might as well learn from it!

What’s more, Little Chatterbox produces best results when child and adult use it together. Learning key words together, watching your child demonstrate their knowledge via fun games and praising their progress add up to a shared experience that is far more beneficial and enjoyable than leaving them to watch alone. We hope our app will be used as part of family life, not taking away from it.

Finally, Little Chatterbox is a closed app – your child will not be accessing the internet while using it. This offers far greater safety and reassurance than watching internet-based educational videos, where children can click their way from suitable media to far less desirable content all too easily.